What's Your Opinion of the Markza?

Yes, again. :sweat_smile:
I find the current take on the Markza leaves something to be desired, though I’ll admit I’m not very good with it. This is mostly from a PvE point of view but I welcome input from PvP players as well. It feels like it - as a good friend of mine put it - shoots pool noodles even when hitting headshots.
It feels inaccurate for being a precision weapon. I miss the scope from the GZ18 variant in Judgement.
Now that I think about it Markza in 4 and 5 are like a compromise between the original Markza and the Breechshot. Unfortunately, it doesn’t really feel as good as either of them. It feels like a total downgrade to me.

I’d personally like to see it get the scope back (or have it be optional? Attachment customization in my Gears game? Heresy!) and get the Breechshot back too.
The current version’s versus tuning is probably in a good spot so the only thing I’d change is the ability to zoom via scope. Alternatively, you could keep this one as is, and bring back both the GZ18 and Breechshot (more work for sure, but I certainly be appreciative) and we could have a “Markza triangle” similar to our three Lancers.

The Breechshot is the odd one out with a redesign and blade like the Retro Lancer, as well as packing the most punch. Predominantly used by Swarm.
The Mk 1 Markza much like the Mark 2 Lancer is largely obsolete and is only really used when there are no other options. These would be used by Outsiders mostly.
The GZ18 Sniper Rifle is the standard to live up to having decent damage and superior accuracy much like the Mark 3 Lancer and GL. The COG/UIR would frequent this one. (Maybe Baird and Paduk will do some workshopping like how Baird and Marcus came up with the current Lancers).

That would be my best case scenario for Gears 6, what does everyone else think?

Edit: Links to sauce.
GZ18 Markza Sniper Rifle | Gears of War Wiki | Fandom
Markza Mk 1 Marksman Rifle | Gears of War Wiki | Fandom