Solo Horde experience totals weird outcomes / comparison

I didn’t understand how re-up XP works in Horde until well after launch. Okay, so it’s based on wave completed + ribbons earned + difficulty (?), I assumed difficulty played a role but idk now based on my solo Horde totals. Is this right?

I recently completed 1-50 waves of Horde on Advanced, Elite, Insane, and Inconceivable. Yes it took a while. Solo horde matches even without restarts are a bit longer unless I’m a mechanic class.

But I did so to compare. All totals were with Boost on. All attempts were completed, 1-50, with 30+ ribbons All are estimated within 1-2k.

Advanced: 29.5k (14k plus boost) total XP earned (not class XP per se)
Elite: 39.5k (19k plus boost)
Insane:59.5k (29k plus boost)
Inconceivable: 61.5k (29k plus 31k boost plus ribbons)

How do these totals compare to 1-50 totals with 4 other players and 30+ ribbons?

I’m especially surprised by the small differences between Insane and Inconceivable. Is XP map based? Again, all were 1-50 but different maps. Am I just wrong?

Base XP from playing is actually not wave based in Gears 5(unlike in 4), but time. Hence why methods where Jack camps out AFK and cloaked on like wave 1 and gets XP for it exist.

The rest is accurate. Do keep in mind that each difficulty also provides a multiplier to the XP. Ribbon XP is also added to the base XP and separately multiplied, so if you do a Master run and get 30 ribbons, you get an additional 7,500 XP added to the base XP.

1 Like

It’s based on time? Wait does that mean if you play without red shirts and just let rounds take hours to complete and you just camp out, you’d end up with a lot more XP? Does it “cap”?

I guess what I’m asking is, I’ve played solo and had rounds that would “never” end if I didn’t go find the enemy and end it myself, theoretically, couldn’t someone play a very early wave on Master, get it down to one enemy, and then just camp for hours like that?