So I just got a m&k as a console player

So I’ve had my m&k for two days now, and it’s been fairly interesting. I wasn’t sure what to expect going in. I suspected that movement would be difficult and aiming easy compared to controller, and both of these turned out to be true to a greater extent than what I was prepared for.

To say that aiming is easy on m&k is an understatement. Hard aiming with the gnasher is pointless; hip firing is just as accurate and much faster. Naturally, rifles and pistols are insanly easy as well. I felt unbeatable, except for one minor problem…

I couldn’t move. I have zero experience with m&k outside of playing lego star wars and unreal tournament on an old dell computer when I was around 9 or so. The keys were near impossible for me to use. I found myself just standing in the open whilst pressing every imaginable key, only to get blasted to smithereens. I kept trying different bindings, but to no avail. It seemed hopeless, and I was forever damned as a controller pleb. But then an idea struck me.

This wasn’t a new idea; many people had tried it before me, and with great success: use mouse and controller. When I first heard about people doing this, I thought it sounded awkward and that it probably took months, if not years to master. But hey, it couldn’t be any worse than m&k. So this afternoon, I gave it a shot.

Good freaking gravy. This should be banned. After playing a couple of quickplay matches, I am already almost as good with mouse and controller as I am with just the controller. I can easily see myself surpassing that skill level within a few weeks.

With my newfound inputs, as well as playing on 480 and turning gore off, I am well on my way to becoming an unstoppable force of Gears nature.

Thanks for reading

#BusterOut

13 Likes

Ahh so you see it now. You’ll be unstoppable soon. Imagine what you could do with full pc advantages. Keep us updated

1 Like

I plan on giving weekly updates of my progression.

1 Like