Let's talk about the gnasher meta, and toxic players

The TL:DR gnasher meta kept this game from reaching it’s current heights and the players who defend it with frothing fervent mouths are the same ones who call you trash in ranked because you didnt play the way they wanted you to, even if you were mvp and won the match.

A long time fan: I have about 6 close friends that I’ve played gears with since it was first out, watching the game “grow” (1 and 2) and “decline” (3 and judgement) and I’ve noticed something rather silly.

1 being heralded as “still the best gears” and judgement and 5 being considered the worst, but the numbers say otherwise, infact going by player base retention all the “bad” gears games beat the breaks off the “good” ones.

A skilled combatant: as a gears veteran, I was tickled pink to see a return of the 1 stick mode for gears 5, able to resume my shenanigans from previous games, glitchy wallbouncing and crab walking, getting kills on casuals with frustrating kill cams for them to watch. Getting tagged in accusatory videos and my inbox filled with messages of anguish or wonder. I’d like to think over the decade I’ve developed a handle on the mechanics of gears. Let me tell ya. It’s never actually felt like a cover based shooter until 5. It’s never really felt all that much tactical. Just wall bounce, cover slide cancel into the fray and hope your aim is true and your fingers nimble, and I gotta say it was kind of frustrating and boring, the casual fodder easily revealing themselves and the real fight taking place between you and the other guys who know how the game works.

Any veteran can tell you, that even with no cover, the time it takes you to reveal yourself and reach lethal range, very few of the weapons could stop you unless they to were using the gnasher. Any other weapons threatening status was a fallacy.