How TC could get me to keep playing Gears 5 after this weekend

The sad truth is that I’m losing interest in Gears 5, but this could be reversed for at least a while if we had the ability to scrap cards. Sure, there are topics about all of the things wrong with the game, but honestly I enjoy it as it is, except I’m getting bored. When you hit level 18 on a character, you at least have some incentive to keep playing them to upgrade all skills (that you want to use) to level 5. But on my JD, everything but Razor Hail is at level 5, and I only seem to get a Razor Hail drop every couple weeks, despite playing on mostly higher difficulties.

I recently started playing Lizzie, and all I need are some purple cards, and again, the ones I need rarely drop.

Playing 2 hours of Horde, and not getting ANYTHING (yes, caps) that helps you is a depressing feeling. I’ve recently finished matches and asked myself why I’m even wasting my time playing Gears.

In Gears 4, when you finished a match, you at least could scrap cards that you didn’t need, or want, so you came out of every match with something valuable. It may not have been large, but it felt like a reward. In Gears 5, you get nothing (couldn’t care less about re-ups, since there is no reward for them either). Unless you can scrap cards, getting a card that you will never use just feels like an insult (“here’s your 87th Score Boost card!”).

So I’ll mess around a bit this weekend for the double XP, but they may lose me after that. Not whining or upset, just realizing that without feeling like each match, wave, etc. is moving me towards some goal, I’d rather move on to other games. Have actually been playing some Rage 2 this week, and it’s fun. It’s been nice to build a character’s skills, and to know exactly what to do to keep improving them.