Gears of No Maps

We talk about maps or lack of…

10 Likes

Wow, I think you’re the first person here to ever think that… you’re a rare one to even think to post about it too…

2 Likes

“Noice”-Michael Rosen

Not being a game developer myself, I can only speculate to the reasons why they don’t borrow certain portions of the campaign and turn them into MP maps. However, I am certain there is a good reason why. For the one you reference in your video, I would guess that its partially because it’s very large and would likely take longer than most MP maps to load with current console hardware. Additionally, the campaign levels are made with higher quality assets so it probably wouldn’t be that simple to just carry over.

One final thing, I see you in nearly every developer stream… the same developer streams where Dana talks at great lengths about why there are currently so few maps in Gears 5, what it will take to bring more maps in, and what we can expect for the future with additional maps… so I find this video strange and almost exploitative considering you are already well educated on the reasons why there are so few maps.

3 Likes

That would be a good idea for a map in your video OP. :call_me_hand:

1 Like

Awww dont get to emotional.

1 Like

I made a post suggesting this about a week after the game released. There’s a lot of great locations in the campaign that would make for some great versus maps. One of my favourite would be in the new facility Niles made that was frozen, you could even incorporate the frost as a mechanic. Example being having a power weapon covered by the frost or a certain route blocked by it and you’d have to turn it off from the control room.