Gears is unrecognisable

So, I’ve been playing Gears since 2006. It is no doubt my favourite multiplayer franchise, and up there with my favourite campaign games. I played Gears 5 campaign when it came out and it was above average for me (excluding the ending…) but abandoned it soon after.

I’ve been playing Gears 1 and UE and really enjoying myself. But with operation 5 and the return of some great maps, I thought I’d give Gears 5 a proper go (albeit taking it with a pinch of salt). I don’t want to just sound negative, but I am actually shocked at what this game has become.

Who are making these creative decisions?
Why is everything not available to unlock through playing?
Why are there multicoloured wrestlers who I didn’t know existed before their addition to this game?
Why are there robots?! What the ■■■■ is happening?
Why does the sniper feel so bad to use?
In fact why does the entire movement feel bad to use?
WHERE IS EXECUTION/WARZONE?!
Where is the atmosphere?
Why are the menus so cluttered with promotional, complicated, multicoloured bs like windows 10?
Why are there f”””””ing gestures?
Where are the players??

Do forgive me, I really am trying to retain myself here but this is just so shocking. It’s a hollow game, zero soul, zero satisfaction. It’s an amusement park for kids.

Has everybody just rolled over and accepted this is what Gears is now? Or are we all grimly aware? Either way, this is very upsetting.

46 Likes

What choice do we have, really? TC owns the franchise and this is their direction of it.

I :100: agree with everything you wrote, but it’s all been complained about before. And yet, here we are…

It’s a completely different tone from the horror/grimness of the first trilogy. Sad…

27 Likes

Such as? The only thing that remains premium is Esports-stuff.

Baird created them to help rebuild “society”. You said you played the campaign, how did you miss that?

Longshot is the most satisfying thing in the game rn.