Engineer mains - do you know how to have fun?

I will preface this by saying that I’m a competent enough Engineer, have done plenty of Master runs and my Del & Baird are both 18s with cards at 3/4/5 (not maxed out, but you get the idea, right?). I’m not a Sentry-spammer, and know what is expected of Engies but it’s not my main character of choice - I would prefer to play as a Lizzie/Marcus/Clayton/Keegan/Kait-style damage dealer when given the choice (those are my choices in order of preference - JD and his 4th of July fireworks are not my style).
I’m part of a regular crew of 5 who’ve been playing Horde together weekly since GoW4, and if I say it myself we’ve a bloody good team developed who complement each other well and can pretty-much rinse Master on any of the maps.
So, after speaking to our Engineer main, and having joined hundreds of custom lobbies, and now reading all of the threads/post from Engies on here since Op4, I have reached a conclusion and wonder if this strikes a chord with any other Engineers…?

The typical Engineer seems NOT to be a Gears-for-fun player. They are very business-like, and treat Horde runs as jobs rather than entertainment. There seems to be a lot of analysis of percentage costs to buy & upgrade etc, and managing the amount of power in the fab (like accountants!). Then, there were the huge numbers of the posts from engineers after they opened the fab were complaints about how they were surplus to requirement, or their job got harder since others could buy. Why not use that to your advantage, and use Baird with a precision weapon to aid your repairs of others fortifications, and start having some fun yourselves in mowing down the Horde? Tuck yourself into the cover next to Marcus with a Markza in hand, and Band of Brothers the headshots until everything is repaired to within an inch of its life but make sure you’ve had fun doing it??

Addendum - this is not a judgement, just an observation… but are Engie mains having fun??

1 Like